Yesterday I was at l’Arche de la solidarité, a charity shop in our town where locals bring their give away stuff but also to find treasures or great deals. I was there because I had seen some very cool lounging type chairs that I would like to refurnish and put on our terrace. Of course I had to take a look around the whole shop while I was there.

In amongst the kitchen wares, an old fashioned Fisher Price record player was perched up, all alone on a shelf. I had one when I was a child and I LOVED it. This one still has all it’s disks and works perfectly. I bought it without even asking the price because they sell stuff like that for pennies. When I got it home, the girls fell instantly in love.

This is Lou, dressed up as Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz, listening to Humpty Dumpty.

DSC_0016

When I hear the music, I am transported back many, many years to similar rainy Sunday afternoons, sitting on the floor, winding up the record player, placing the arm and listening to each and every song, humming away. Watching her is almost like watching a film of my own childhood.

DSC_0023

But I didn’t have these very fancy, sparkly shoes!

DSC_0006

Happy Sunday